The other key structures of the head include: the lacrimal glands, eyelids, teeth and palate.

The lacrimal glands, located in the superolateral aspect of the orbit of each eye, are exocrine glands responsible for lubricating the eye. The lacrimal glands produce a serous secretion which passes over the conjunctiva and cornea, which is then drained by the lacrimal apparatus into the nasal cavity.

The eyelids also serve a function in the protection of the eyes. These small folds of skin protect the eye from excessive light and trauma, as well as aiding the lacrimal glands with distribution of tears over the eyes.

The teeth are located within the oral cavity and are organised in to the upper and lower arches. Consisting of 20 teeth, primary dentition erupts from 6 months of age. IT is then replaced by permanent dentition, consisting of 32 teeth. There are 4 main types of teeth: incisors. Canines, premolars, and molars. Each tooth consists of 2 key structural parts: the crown and the root.

The palate, also known as the roof of the mouth, forms a boundary separating the nasal and oral cavities. It is separated into two distinct parts: the hard palate, anteriorly, and the soft palate, posteriorly.

In this section, learn more about other key structures of the head including: the lacrimal glands, eyelids, teeth and palate.

+ Read more

Child and Adult Dentition

The Palate


The Cranial Nerves

The Facial Nerve (CN VII)

by Liam Curry



by Oliver Jones


Serratus Posterior Superior

by Sharanya Bhaskaran